Lan-Inspector 11 System

The Lan-Inspector is your ideal instrument to uncover a complete inventory of the software and hardware in your network. Whether you decide to set up a complete Software Asset Management (SAM), or if licensors like Microsoft or Adobe request a self-disclosure: everything will start with an inventory of all installed software. Only when you know for sure what is really installed in your network can you reach legal certainty.

The process of inventory discovery begins by searching for computers. Only the Lan-Inspector combines all of the following mechanisms in order to reach even the most distant computer of your company.


Mechanisms of Computer Discovery
  • Direct import of objects from the Active Directory
  • IP-Range-Polling (what answers will be scanned)
  • Scan at log-on of users (via log on script or group policy)
  • Scan via USB stick or e-mail
  • Scan via Internet Agent (e.g. field agents' notebooks)
  • Optionally via computer browser services


You can simply use Drag'n'Drop to sort the PCs found into the location tree. This Location Tree visualizes the structure of your company and displays locations, departments, and groups. The Lan-Inspector offers as many sub-containers as you need to build up a structural map of your company. If you only need content and quick installation lists, you can directly drag all computer objects into the default location.

Of course you can still rearrange the groups and resort PCs later, also using Drag'n'Drop. Directly afterwards you run the network scan of the objects found in the location tree. These manual steps can also be automated within a time schedule. There are quite a lot of simple scan tools in the market - but, when the chips are down, the quality of the scan is crucial.

The Lan-Inspector supports the administrator's work by identifying software via registry and file signatures. Additionally, it inventories the hardware, if necessary on DMI level. Everything is presented in intuitive graphical user interfaces. You can perform and visualize important queries with only a few clicks.
Do you need a list of all software products and the count of their occurrences in your network? On what computers is software 'X' installed or not installed? Such quick views on the database are embedded in dialogues the Lan-Inspector offers by default.


Inventory Contents
  • Installed software, producer, website etc.
  • Connected exe files for usage analysis
  • Optional exe start protocol of local PCs
  • Hardware on DMI level, extended CPU info, RAM slots, HD serials, partitions etc.
  • Local user accounts with log on info
  • Local services and shares
  • Local processes
  • Filescan in the network by pattern (f.e.: .docx,.mp3,.avi, etc.)

Of course, you can create very individual queries on the inventory database. Everything is presented within intuitive dialogues that have been developed over fifteen years of correspondence with our customers. All these lists created by the Lan-Inspector feature a great option: with only one click you can send them to Excel and continue to work on them externally.

After you have detected the as-is state of your network via inventory discovery, you can focus on the details of the purchase licenses. You enter them in the license pool and, if necessary, you can also associate them with locations or departments. You can apply most different license models and license metrics.


Additionally, the Lan-Inspector offers a brilliant solution to manage terminal session licenses (Citrix) by linking them to Active Directory user groups. The actual number of users of such a linked group is set as a count of the licenses used. Thus, the actual number of users will be compared to the purchased licenses in license balances. You can link as many license pool entries with your Active Directories as you need.


The queries of almost all data views can be deposited as Template Reports, including all parameters set. This method enables you to use only three clicks to perform complex queries on database content. The Lan-Inspector can send out e-mails containing the results of these template reports. If you want, the mailer sends your freshly calculated License Balance promptly on the 1st of each month – or, if necessary, on a daily basis. In larger companies with several Lan-Inspector administrators, private template reports enable a clear separation of authorities.




Why is the Lan-Inspector your first choice?
  • Auditing acceptable database archives
  • Save on volume agreemens via usage analysis
  • Network-wide software start suppression
  • Software compliance features
  • Self-audit features
  • Reaches for notebooks across the world
  • Extraordinary report/template management
  • Various reminder functions via e-mail
  • Complete automation features

There are some requirements that all companies’ inventory software is supposed to fulfil: an important example is Auditing Acceptability.

What would happen if you suddenly have to prove what the as-is state of May, 2nd of the previous year had looked like?

It's simple: you start an archive access with only a few clicks, enabling you to perform reports or queries of data states of each specific day. This function also offers the possibility of creating complex new queries that you can execute on previous database states.

The Lan-Inspector also includes many features to help you with self-disclosures. You can use the SAM-Essentials plugin or you try out the report for Adobe self-audits. Needless to say, licensors are going to earn money if they grant usage licenses for their products to end users. In times of conflict, you'd better negotiate a good compromise. De facto, this is only possible if you keep track of your installations and know the numbers: ignorance of the facts weakens your negotiating position, pushing you into the defensive. This can be avoided. You can count on our licensor independent support. Use our Lan-Inspector! Start your own successful Software Asset Management (SAM). This will put you in a position to fill out self-disclosures without fearing the consequences. Please check out our Lan-Inspector Editions!

Lan-Inspector 10 System

Der Lan-Inspector ist Ihr ideales Instrument zur schnellen Inventarisierung aller Soft- und Hardware im Netzwerk. Egal ob Sie entscheiden, ein Software Asset Management (SAM) aufzubauen oder ob Hersteller wie Microsoft oder Adobe eine Selbstauskunft einfordern: Alles beginnt mit der Bestandsaufnahme der installierten Software. Erst wenn Sie wissen, was in Ihrem Netzwerk wirklich installiert ist, können Sie rechtliche Sicherheit erreichen.

Der Inventarisierungsprozess beginnt mit der Rechnersuche. Nur der Lan-Inspector kombiniert alle folgenden Mechanismen und spürt so auch den letzten Rechner Ihre Firma auf.


Mechanismen der Rechnersuche
  • Direkter Objektimport aus dem Active Directory
  • IP-Range-Polling auf Alles
  • Scan bei Logon der User (Login Script / policy)
  • Scan via USB-Stick oder E-Mail
  • Scan via Internet Agent (Field-Notebooks)
  • Optional auch via Computersuchdienst


Gefundene PCs können direkt per Drag'n'Drop in den Standortbaum einsortiert werden. Der Standortbaum bildet Ihre Unternehmensstruktur in Standorten, Abteilungen und Gruppen ab. Zur strukturellen Nachbildung Ihres Unternehmens bietet der Lan-Inspector beliebig viele Ebenen der Verschachtelung. Benötigt man nur Inhalte und schnelle Gesamtlisten, zieht man alle Rechner-Objekte nach links direkt in den default-Standort. Das Umsortieren kann dann später erfolgen.

Direkt im Anschluss wird der Netzwerkscan der gefundenen Objekte durchgeführt. Diese manuellen Schritte lassen sich auch innerhalb eines Zeitplans automatisieren. Es gibt mittlerweile verhältnismäßig viele einfache Scantools am Markt. Wenn es aber drauf ankommt, ist die Qualität des Scans entscheidend.

Der Lan-Inspector unterstützt die Arbeit des Admins, indem er Software via Registry und Dateiidentifizierung aufspürt. Er scannt zudem die Hardware bis hinunter auf DMI-Ebene. Alles wird in intuitiven Dialogen präsentiert. Wichtige Abfragen können mit wenigen Klicks visualisiert werden. Brauchen Sie eine Liste der Zahlen aller Installationen im Netz? Auf welchen Rechnern ist Software 'X' entweder installiert oder nicht installiert? Diese schnellen Ansichten und viele mehr stellt der Lan-Inspector zur Verfügung.


Inhalte der Inventarisierung
  • Installierte Software, Hersteller, Website etc.
  • Zugehörige Exe-Files für Nutzungsanalyse
  • Optionales EXE-Startprotokoll des PCs
  • Hardware auf DMI Ebene, erweiterte CPU-Info, Ramslots, HD-Seriennummern, Partitionen etc.
  • Lokale Benutzerkonten mit Anmeldeinfos
  • Lokale Dienste und Freigaben
  • Lokale Prozesse
  • Dateien im Netz (z.B.: .docx,.mp3,.avi, etc.)

Selbstverständlich können auch ganz individuelle Abfragen auf den Datenbestand durchgeführt werden. Dafür stehen intuitive Bedienoberflächen zur Verfügung, die in 15 Jahren engem Kundendialog entwickelt wurden. Für alle so erzeugten Listen gilt: Sie können mit nur einem Klick direkt in Excel geöffnet und dort weiterbearbeitet werden.

Nachdem der IST-Zustand Ihres Netzwerkes durch die Inventarisierung festgestellt wurde, werden kaufmännische Lizenzen erfasst. Diese werden innerhalb des Lizenzpools eingegeben und auf Wunsch im Standortbaum einzelnen Abteilungen zugeordnet. Hier können verschiedenste Lizenzmodelle und Lizenzmetriken eingestellt werden.


Der Lan-Inspector bietet Ihnen zudem die Möglichkeit, Terminallizenzen (Citrix) zu verwalten, indem man ActiveDirectory Usergruppen mit kaufmännischen Lizenzeinträgen verknüpft. Die Anzahl der nutzungsberechtigten User innerhalb der Gruppe gilt als Anzahl genutzter Lizenzen. Diese wird in Lizenzbilanzen entsprechend dem kaufmännischen Bestand gegenübergestellt. Es sind beliebig viele ADS-Verknüpfungen im Lizenzpool zulassig.


Die Abfragen fast aller Daten-Ansichten können mit eingestellten Parametern als Template-Report hinterlegt werden. So können alle Abfragen mit wenigen Klicks jederzeit auf aktuelle Datenbestände wieder angewendet werden. Ergebnisse können via E-Mail an beliebig viele Empfänger verschickt werden. Bei Bedarf schickt Ihnen der Lan-Inspector pünktlich zu jedem 1. des Monats eine aktuell erstellte Lizenzbilanz per E-Mail, auf Wunsch auch jeden Tag. In größeren Unternehmen mit mehreren Lan-Inspector Administratoren sorgen als privat hinterlegte Reports für klare Trennung der Kompetenzen.




Warum ist der Lan-Inspector das Produkt Ihrer Wahl?
  • Vollständige Revisionssicherheit / Archivfunktion
  • Sparen bei Volumenverträgen durch Nutzungsanalyse
  • Software-Startverhinderung unerwünschter EXEn
  • Software-Compliance Features
  • Selbstauskunft Support Features
  • Erfasst auch weltweit verstreute Notebooks
  • Beispielhaftes Reportmanagement
  • Diverse Erinnerungsfunkionen via E-Mail
  • Vollständige Automatisierbarkeit

Es gibt Anforderungen von Unternehmen, die muss eine Inventarisierung unbedingt erfüllen: Ein wichtiges Beispiel ist Revisionssicherheit.

Was ist, wenn Sie plötzlich nachweisen sollen, wie der IST-Stand am 2. Mai des vergangenen Jahres war?

Ganz einfach: Sie starten einen Zugriff aufs Lan-Inspector Datenarchiv und können mit wenigen Klicks tagesgenaue Auskünfte erteilen. Auf diese Weise können Sie sogar neue Abfragen auf alte Datenbestände ausführen.

Der Lan-Inspector bietet diverse Features, um Selbstauskünfte zu erleichtern. Sie können das SAM-Essentials Plugin nutzen oder Sie nutzen den Adobe Report für Selbstauskünfte. Es versteht sich von selbst, dass Hersteller für die Nutzung ihrer Software entsprechend entlohnt werden sollen und müssen. Bei Differenzen muss ein guter Kompromiss ausgehandelt werden. So etwas ist jedoch nur möglich, wenn Sie Ihre Installationen und Lizenzen kennen und im Griff haben: Unkenntnis der Fakten schwächt Ihre Verhandlungsposition und lässt Sie in die Defensive geraten. Das muss nicht sein. Sie können auf unsere herstellerunabhängige Unterstützung bauen. Nutzen Sie den Lan-Inspector! Starten Sie Ihr erfolgreiches Software Asset Management (SAM). Dadurch wickeln Sie Selbstauskünfte in Zukunft problemlos und sicher ab. Schauen Sie sich dazu unsere Lan-Inspector Editionen an!